Decoding Daniel - an in depth Bible study of the book of Daniel

| Daniel Bible Study | About the Author | Bibliography |
Daniel 7

Outline and Background - Daniel 7

Vision and Dream of the Three Beasts - Daniel 7:1-6

The Four Winds of Heaven

The Great Sea

The First Beast

The Second Beast

The Third Beast

Vision of the Fourth Beast - Daniel 7:7-8

The Little Horn of the Fourth Beast

The Future From God's Perspective

Linking of Daniel 7 to Revelation 17

Vision of God's Throne - Daniel 7:9-12

Vision of the Son of Man - Daniel 7:13-14

Visions and Dream Interpreted - Daniel 7:15-28

Applications of Daniel 7

Vision of the Fourth Beast - Daniel 7:7-8

Daniel passes quickly over the first three beasts to get to the fourth, which captured his interest.

After that, in my vision at night I looked, and there before me was a fourth beast—terrifying and frightening and very powerful. It had large iron teeth; it crushed and devoured its victims and trampled underfoot whatever was left. It was different from all the former beasts, and it had ten horns.

Nothing in nature compares to the fourth beast; it is perverse and vicious. The apostle John described this beast as a hybrid of the previous three beasts.

The beast I saw resembled a leopard, but had feet like those of a bear and a mouth like that of a lion. The dragon gave the beast his power and his throne and great authority (Revelation 13:2).

The Roman Empire followed the Greek Empire. Rome boasted that it did not destroy the cultures of the nations it conquered but incorporated them into itself, which is symbolized by “it crushed and devoured its victims.” The teeth of Rome were like iron as its army conquered and
ruled with an iron hand until the empire eventually faded from power. The great iron teeth correspond to the legs of iron on the image in the dream of dreams (Daniel 2:33, 40-43).

The fourth beast is dreadful, terrible, and exceedingly strong since its power and great authority will come from Satan. The unholy trinity that directs this beast will be judged by God.

In that day, the LORD will punish with his sword, his fierce, great and powerful sword, Leviathan the gliding serpent, Leviathan the coiling serpent; he will slay the monster of the sea (Isaiah 27:1).

Most likely, the gliding serpent epitomizes Satan; the coiling serpent is the False Prophet; and the monster of the sea is the Antichrist.

Prophetically, the time of the fourth beast is not completed. The ten horns are the same as the ten toes of Daniel 2:41 and ten horns of Revelation 13:1:

And the dragon stood on the shore of the sea. And I saw a beast coming out of the sea. He had ten horns and seven heads, with ten crowns on his horns, and on each head a blasphemous name.

Horns are emblems of power, dominion, glory, and fierceness, just as they are the chief means of attack and defense for the animals endowed with them. Horns are symbolic of kings and their kingdoms in Scripture. Zechariah, the father of John the Baptist, identified Christ Jesus as a horn, announcing, “He has raised up a horn of salvation for us in the house of his servant David” (Luke 1:69). In other words, the Messiah is a strong and powerful Savior, who is the King of Israel.

Each horn of the fourth beast represents a future king and kingdom. All ten horns are present at once; therefore, they are a ten-kingdom confederacy. There is no period in history that comes close to fitting Daniel’s vision of the ten horns; it remains future to this day.

Today, the European Union is united under The Treaty of Rome, signed on March 25, 1957. Initially, the European Union consisted of just six countries: Belgium, Germany, France, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands. Denmark, Ireland and the United Kingdom joined in 1973,
Greece in 1981, Spain and Portugal in 1986, Austria, Finland and Sweden in 1995. In 2004, the biggest ever enlargement took place with 10 new countries joining it.

The Treaty of Rome, as amended by subsequent treaties, deals with goods, capital, persons, services, and significantly, its associations with overseas nations and territories. Since 1999, passports are no longer required for travel between twelve European countries and the Eurodollar has been replacing national currencies and gaining economic strength in world markets.

Southern Europe, Western Asia and Northern Africa were part of the Ancient Roman Empire, but are not part of the European Union at this time. It seems unlikely that the ten kings of the Revived Roman Empire will be limited to Western Europe. It is possible that the foundation for the ten kings is being laid in the European Union. Nevertheless, any configuration of this ten-kingdom confederation at this time would be speculation—we will need to wait for history to reveal prophecy.

Bible Studies by Bob Conway

Unsealing Revelation

Experiencing Exodus

Book of James

Life and Passion of Christ

The Holy Spirit

How to Study the Bible

Romans Salvation

Life of the Apostle Paul

Other studies at Spreading Light Bible Studies

Buy the Book
Decoding Daniel is available in paperback and on the Kindle

Decoding Daniel is a part of the Spreading Light Ministries Network

| Spreading Light Ministries | Free Bible Courses | Church of Petra | Christian Evangelism

| Christian Life Stories | My Online Bible Games | Online Bible Devotions | Online Bible Dictionary |